‘gods at war’ by Kyle Idleman: Review

“Your heart is the battlefield of the gods.”   It’s an odd tagline for a book aimed at helping Christians get closer to the one true God until you realize how easily we get distracted and construct our own golden calves.  I’d like to think that there’s no way I could possibly be as easily swayed to worship other idols like the Israelites did while Moses was on Mt. Sinai receiving the Ten Commandments.  It’s sad, but true.  If I were honest I’d probably admit that it rarely takes me forty days to give in to those lowercase gods.

As a Kyle Idleman fan, (if you know, you’ll get the pun) I was really eager to get “gods at war” from Booksneeze.   I had high expectations after his last book convinced me to buy the shirt coinciding with the book!  I really enjoy the humor and wit, and really hated how my toes were stepped on so many times by the revelation of things I’ve allowed to infiltrate my heart.  Idleman asked a question that hit me hard when he said “why would God bless his competition?”  I don’t want anything to take the place of God any longer, even if it’s something as seemingly normal as entertainment.

There were times when I fought my way through chapters that I felt weren’t relevant to me, but they’d surely hit someone else who may need to read those topics.  I must say that I highly recommend the book to everyone interesting in a more intimate, personal relationship with God.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

