Faith without action is merely belief.

Faith without action is merely belief.

 

Even the demons of Hell have achieved that level of spiritual maturity.

 
Please don’t die there.

 

If you are at a place in life that only requires faith in the restaurant you’re going to eat at tonight, then it may be time to change your environment.  Faith without action (works) will spiritually and literally bore you to death.

 

Every new year, I’m reminded of the hymn that proclaims “I am resolved no longer to linger, charmed by the world’s delight, things that are higher, things that are nobler, these have allured my sight.”  It’s more than just a hymn.  It’s a proclamation that things MUST be different.  It’s a solid first foot down in the direction that God is sending you.  It’s a completely determined focus on the end result.

 
Then it’s the leap.
 
The reckless jump.
 
It’s the uncertainty of the landing that makes it so much fun.

 
Change is terrifying to people.  Change is even more terrifying to death.  Change is the antithesis and antagonist of death.  Change is the beautiful essence of a life well-lived. 
 
As scary as change may be, it’s even moreso liberating.  I believe we too often enslave ourselves to comfort.  Jesus spoke some incredibly difficult words quoted in Matthew 16:24 when He said “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.”  Does your spiritual walk resemble the denying of yourself, or the refusal to face your challenges and fears instead?  Do your spiritual aspirations set you up to achieve the lightest cross possible?  How heavy is the cross you bear?  Our answers easily expose wether or not we can adequately claim to “follow” Jesus.  Jesus knew how heavy His cross would soon be.  Yet He gladly bore my sin and shame.  By contrast, my cross is nothing.  Jesus had just explained to Peter that he was actually a hindrance to God’s’ purpose since he had been so concerned with the issues of the world instead of the things of God.  
 
In 2013, I resolve to grab my cross and dive head first.
 
I resolve to never be content to simply grow, but to let God position me to thrive.
 
I will settle for no less than a life considered epic.
 
Nothing eases the fear of change more than the comfort and rest of landing in the very Hands of God.
  1. #1 by Tim Ogle on January 3, 2013 - 10:51 am

    Reblogged this on Becoming a Follower and commented:
    My friend and brother Travis “reSEARCH” Harmon accepts and encourages a courageous challenge.

  2. #2 by Tim Ogle on January 3, 2013 - 10:52 am

    We were created for so much more than we settle for.

  3. #3 by lifethewayitgoes on January 3, 2013 - 10:52 am

    Reblogged this on lifethewayitgoes and commented:
    As my New Years resolution was to live completely fearless in my relationship with God, this blog is perfect. We must always strive for more because God always wants more for us. I took a great step yesterday and God opened so many doors and this month I will be getting baptized, and it’s because settling wasn’t enough. I want to do what God wants for me and I’m willing to do what it takes….

Leave a Reply

