I Used To Be Political.

I used to be political.  I used to partake in the debates, sport the bumper stickers, and get heated when my friends supported the guy I was against.  I passionately campaigned my convictions all the way to the polls.

I’m no longer political.

One of the convictions that I held strongly is that abortion is murder.  (Jeremiah 1:4-5, Psalm 139:13-14, Isaiah 49:15, Psalm 22:10)  I believe in the woman’s right to choose.  I believe she should either choose to take responsibility for her actions, or offer the child for adoption.  So I voted for the candidate that shared my views.  I was duped.  I felt foolish afterwards.  I was completely swayed to offer a political vote on an issue that my candidate shared.  Yet NOTHING was ever changed.  Nothing ever happened.  After 8 years in office.

I hate that I am missing out on the exciting heated online debates about who to vote for in this election.  However, I know that the political puppets in this race will never fix the issues that they use to sway our votes.

I wholeheartedly believe that the only American hope to combat moral issues like abortion rest solely on the shoulders of the Church.  The only way we will ever change the statistical monstrosities is by engaging our churches to actively disciple and get involved in assisting the choices of these young Mothers.  Until we walk alongside of our family members, neighbors and even church members, and help them see the truth of the Biblical responsibility that they hold within their pregnancy, we will continue being duped by a government that has no moral backbone at all. (One survey claims 570,000 abortions in 2000 were made by proclaiming Christians.) Only a life changed by grace through faith in Jesus can change a heart.

Feel free to continue debating and arguing the issues.  When it’s all said and done, and nothing has been done, just please don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Instead, be the church God intended.  Stop secluding yourselves from the influence you were called to have over people that desperately need God through you.  You are called to be followers and disciples that make disciples, not political figureheads.

Go out and vote your convictions, I did.  But let’s stop being foolish, and know we can only expect the change to come from thriving, healthy, discipling churches, and not the actions of any government.

I’m no longer political, but I strive to be Biblical.

  1. #1 by Johnny Bishop on October 29, 2012 - 3:01 pm

    I like it. I’m not sure I’ll step completely out of the arena, maybe just shoat at the players in the ring from time to time. I think, you are right, the mostly don’t change the moral issues, unless it’s to cheapen them, never to embolden them. So that’s my dilemma, but at the same time I agree the Church is the ultimate responsibility. We need to help change hearts and minds through the power of Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit. “If I (Christ) be lifted up, I will draw all men unto me!”

Leave a Reply

