Seriously Serious.

I’ve met many, many people in my many years of life.  I’ve met boring people, interesting people, intriguing people, and I’ve even gone to Walmart after midnight.  I’ve shared tacos with many people who have completely blown my mind with their brilliance. I’ve got friends who inspire me artistically, and amaze me intellectually.

Yet, none of those people hold a candle to her.

When I think about what the last 4 years of my life have been like, I can’t begin to imagine it without her.  Looking back, life before her was reminiscent of a book without a plot. Aimlessly driven.  If you’ve ever taken a failed shortcut, and felt frustrated with the time you wasted, you know how I feel about life before I met her.  Life was a car with no wheels.  Joy was a trophy that didn’t shine.  Peace was a candle that wouldn’t burn.  Hope was a sun that wouldn’t warm a cold day.

C.S. Lewis said ‘I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.’  It’s so true.  Christ has illuminated our worldview like the sun radiates our world.  Similarly, through her, my eyes see Christ in a more vibrant, radiant perspective.  Sure, it’s come through years of trials and the exposing of my flaws, but that’s the beauty of the quest for holiness.  It’s not that it’s something we’ve attained, but it’s the clarity of knowing I have a loving set of eyes that help me see through my failures and reach into my potential.

I’ve had friends, but never one that could challenge my high score on Tetris, and my theologies of grace in the same night.  I’ve never had a friend that so passionately challenged me to climb over the obstacles in front of me, even if it was formally considered bouldering.  I’ve never hiked so many mountainous trails with anyone before.  I’ve never laughed, cried, and sang Ingrid Michaelson Mat Kearney songs with anyone else, like I’ve done with her so many times.

And it’s all been amazing. It feels like a lifetime. It feels like it’s been an amazing lifetime already. And it’s only been 4 years.  If I weren’t given another year, I’d die today satisfied.

So, on this day, I would like to publicly thank God for her, and celebrate the most amazing 4 years I’ve had so far.

To the most amazing, beautiful, precious, patient, loving person that I’ve ever met.

Happy 4th anniversary.

I love you Amy.

  1. #1 by Becky on August 16, 2012 - 12:03 pm

    She is very blessed. Happy Anniversary to you both.

  2. #2 by Kaylyn on August 16, 2012 - 1:49 pm

    I wish you and Amy the best ❤ Sent from my heart. You guys have helped me sooo much in my life and to me saying "Thank you" will never be enough. Through you guys I have found My God and forever remembered that He'll never leave me. I love you Amy & Travis. You two are my heros ❤ But forever my Number one hero is Jesus Christ.

  3. #3 by Erica Taranto on October 29, 2012 - 1:25 am

    Beautifully written. Actually, brought tears to my eyes! You are a beautiful couple and you reflect Christ through your marriage. Thank you! And Congratulations!:)

Leave a Reply

